## Dawlish & District u3a Annual General Meeting, 17<sup>th</sup> October 2022 Manor House

**Present:** Peter Thorogood, Maggie Thorogood, Eileen Forrester, Lynne Foote, Chris Foote, Kate McCarthy, Michael Heyden, Brenda Butterworth, Linda Petherick, Barbara Rains, Keith Feltham, Molly Doyle, Barbara Roberts, Pamela Brown, Les Bailes, Pam Pike, Steve Wheatley, Gill Umpleby, Marcus Appleby, Kerry Sherwin, David Pickton, Gloria Stuart, Brian Stuart, George Lipscomb, Carolyn Hartley, Tony Leigh, Barry Baker, Robert Clark, Cathy Clark, Liane Goulding, Susan Ennals, Phil Mitchell, Rob Thisteleton, David Wright, Jacqui Bigmore, John Vick, Lynne Vick

The meeting was quorate.

- 1. The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting.
- 2. Minutes of the AGM held on 20<sup>th</sup> September 2021 were approved.
- 3. The Chair's report was circulated to members prior to the meeting. Despite the continuing effects of lock down, and the cancellation of a meeting because of the heatwave, he felt that the organisation had had a good year with membership at historically strong levels and with new interest groups being formed. He thanked members of the committee for their hard work which frequently went far beyond their normal responsibilities. He reminded members that the committee is running with the bare minimum of members required by the constitution and urged members to consider stepping forward to take on roles to help.
- 4. The Treasurer reported that the financial position continues to be strong and invited any comments or questions.

The accounts for the year ending 31<sup>st</sup> March 2022 were approved.

5. Election of Officers and Committee Members

Chairman	John Vick
Treasurer	Michael Heyden
Secretary	Peter Thorogood
Membership Secretary	Kate McCarthy
Groups Coordinator	Barry Baker
Committee Member	Brenda Butterworth

Dave Wright volunteered to serve on the committee, and the meeting approved this.

- Appointment of Independent Examiner Richard Hinchliffe was elected. The Treasurer expressed his appreciation of his work.
- 7. Annual General Meeting was formally closed.

David Wright Secretary